Thoughts on: The Woman Who Lived

11 thoughts on “Thoughts on: The Woman Who Lived”

  1. First of all, the makeup was beautiful. It made me think of Vincent from Beauty and the Beast (the TV show).

    I thought the rest of it went well as well. I liked the fact that for the first time in an episode, the Doctor (especially THIS Doctor who needs note-cards) was the one who had to be the voice of logic and humanity. I also liked the fact that Ashildr was so jealous of Clara as well, especially because Clara got to travel with the Doctor. What I didn’t like was the selfie — as far as I can tell, the Doctor wasn’t there, it was just Clara with a student…why was she there? It seemed forced to me. Otherwise, I really did enjoy the episode.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Capaldi’s Doctor is really becoming a more rounded character, more in touch with his humanity, no doubt in large part due to Clara’s assistance. He’s really starting to become one of my favourite Doctors, which I wouldn’t have expected myself to say this time last series.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I’m one of the very few that liked him from the moment of regeneration. I couldn’t figure out why, when it took me soooo long to like Matt Smith after David Tennant (my Doctor), but it was just instant. I’m so glad that it’s looking good for him now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I particularly liked Me’s character because she seems to be inexplicably human. She isn’t wholly good and nor is she wholly bad. She doesn’t try to be particularly good or particularly bad. She’s just going through life trying not to be hurt. This was a new thing for the series. Perhaps it had more to do with Maisie’s interpretation and portrayal of the character than anything else, but I could be wrong.
    I think you’re right about the whole Clara thing. It seems as if Moffat is trying too hard to convince us that Clara will die. I think he’s trying to catch us off guard. But that does make me wonder, what could he do to Clara that is a whole lot worse than death?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I thought the comedy parts were funny enough by themselves, but the episode failed to establish a consistent tone, which obviously diminished the effect of what it was trying to say.

      Liked by 1 person

"Say something nice..."

