Steven Moffat’s Top 10 (Part 2)

5 thoughts on “Steven Moffat’s Top 10 (Part 2)”

  1. I’m going to stick my neck out and say that ‘The Time of The Doctor’ should be somewhere on that list – not very high up mind, but I have always thought it was a great episode, not just for the amazing last soliloquy of the 11th Doctor. The production is great, it’s well-paced and very fun, the idea of the Doctor spending hundreds of years protecting one village is just fantastic and so right – plus some nice cameos from the silence and cybermen etc. I’ve never understood why it gets such negativity from whovians.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with your opinion on The Time of the Doctor. I’ve always loved it, and it wasn’t that much further down on the giant list of all of Moffat’s stories I made before I wrote this post — I had it at #15, after Deep Breath and before Asylum of the Daleks.

      I think it gets negativity because, admittedly, it’s a bit of a mess. It ties up all the loose arc threads from the previous four years and it packs a lot into its 60 minutes. It would be *almost* incoherent to the average casual viewer. But my perspective is that Doctor Who has always been predominantly a glorious, camp, soppy mess and we should just love it for being what it is. Not every story can be Human Nature or Blink.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I guess, in the end, that this is just a ranking of my favourite Moffat stories, although that didn’t necessarily make it any easier. I certainly hope I’ll have to revise this list by the time Moffat leaves though!

      Liked by 1 person

"Say something nice..."

