Doctor Who’s best speeches | 3-1

9 thoughts on “Doctor Who’s best speeches | 3-1”

  1. Well, I was pretty much with you until “The Rings of Akhaten” – I really didn’t like that episode. Matt Smith gives it his all but it all but the story and situation are unsatisfying and forced, and the speech itself more overwrought than genuine.

    I thought maybe your Number One was going to turn out to be the entirety of “Heaven Sent” – certainly I’d think something in there would have made my Top 12

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Fair enough. I really liked it, I thought it redeemed what was otherwise a fairly unremarkable episode (apart from the music), but different impressions I guess.

      I thought about including Heaven Sent, but I didn’t think it counted as a “speech” as such. Maybe the Shepherd Boy sequence might have been appropriate, in which case I certainly would have put it somewhere near the top. But like I said I didn’t quite think this through before I started because I completely forgot about a handful of speeches that I would have included!

      What would be your favourites, if it’s not putting you on the spot?

      Like

      1. I haven’t thought it through, and there are probably loads I’m forgetting because it’s been a long time since I’ve seen the episodes, but what comes to mind right away is Matt Smith in The Eleventh Hour (“Hello, I’m the Doctor. Basically, run.”); River Song at the end of Forest of the Dead (“Every once in a very long while…everybody lives.”); Amy Pond in The Big Bang (“Raggedy Man, I remember you, and you are late for my wedding!”); Matt Smith in The Time of the Doctor (“I will always remember when the Doctor was me.”). Maybe something from David Tennant in The Christmas Invasion. As I said I was pretty much with you up until the end.

        Although I’m not as much of a fan of some of the other classics – the Pandorica Opens speech, or the Zygon Inversion speech. Both a bit “over-cooked” if that makes sense. But I like both episodes, so I can understand why people like them.

        Liked by 1 person

"Say something nice..."

