Thoughts on: The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on: The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit”

  1. I really liked what you had to say up until the “competent performance” by Tennant remark. It was a beautiful performance. I am guessing you just don’t like him.

    The worst dialogue of the episode for me was when The Doctor claimed if he believed in anything, he believed in her. Yeah, the bad wolf thing was pretty clever, but it took Jackie and Mickey for her to pull it off. Why would he have such total confidence in her that he would take such a huge risk? Raising up the companions to such heights has been my biggest problem with the “new” series and has become ridiculous with Clara.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t mean that as a slight against Tennant. By “competent” I meant he did everything right, his performance was flawless. But yeah, perhaps a poor choice of words. I tend to churn out these posts quite quickly, so I don’t go through a thorough appraisal of every aspect of the episode, but looking back on it now, I agree his performance was spectacular.

      I agree about raising the companions too high. I can understand how the companions might over time, living the Doctor’s lifestyle, take on some of the characteristics of the Doctor like leadership, bravery, even heroism (like Clara in Flatline), but it’s a big leap of faith to trust that Rose will find a way to get back to him, or whatever, after he jumps down a bottomless pit.

      Like

"Say something nice..."

